NEW RECORDING on YouTube!

The pianist Konstantin Semilakovs was born in 1984 in Riga (Latvia).

 

He is laureate of the First Prize of the International Piano Competition in Porto (Portugal), prizewinner of the Competition for Young Pianists Ettlingen (Germany) and First Prize winner of the national music competition "Jugend musiziert".

 

Konstantin Semilakovs has performed in recital and chamber music concerts at the International Beethoven Festival Bonn, the Frankfurt Musikmesse, the Braunschweig Classix Festival, the Schleswig-Holstein and Mecklenburg-Vorpommern Music Festivals. In 2010 he debuted with the Nuremberg Symphony Orchestra and Beethoven's Choral Fantasy at the Meistersingerhalle.

 

Konstantin Semilakovs was awarded the Klassikpreis of West German Broadcasting (WDR) and City of Münster, the Hans Sikorski Memorial Award, and the Prize of Ingolstadt Concert Association.

 

In 2004 he commenced his piano studies with Wolfgang Manz at the Nuremberg University of Music and graduated 2008 with a diploma in music pedagogy and 2009 with artist's diploma. In 2011 he received his Meisterklasse diploma with distinction. 2011-2012 Konstantin Semilakovs continued his piano studies with Michael Wladkowski at École Normale de Musique Alfred Cortot in Paris and graduated with the Diplôme Supérieur d'Exécution.

 

From 2011 to 2018 he taught at the Nuremberg University of Music, 2013-2017 at the College of Catholic Church Music and Music Education Regensburg and 2016-2018 at the University Mozarteum in Salzburg.

 

Since 2018, Konstantin Semilakovs is professor of piano at the University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna.

 

In addition to his artistic and pedagogical activities, Konstantin Semilakovs is researching the phenomenon of synaesthesia and 'colour' in classical music of the 20th century (especially in the compositions of Alexander Scriabin and Olivier Messiaen) within his doctoral programme at the University of St Andrews. The main focus of his work is the relation between overtone-based harmony and tonality, cross-modal linkage, and perception of consonance and harmony.

Der Pianist Konstantin Semilakovs wurde 1984 in Riga geboren.

 

Er ist Gewinner des Internationalen Klavierwettbewerbs Porto, Preisträger des Wettbewerbs für junge Pianisten Ettlingen und mehrmaliger erster Bundespreisträger im Wettbewerb „Jugend musiziert“.


Mit Solo- und Kammermusikkonzerten trat Konstantin Semilakovs bei den Internationalen Beethovenfesten Bonn, der Frankfurter Musikmesse, beim Braunschweig Classix Festival, dem Schleswig-Holstein Musikfestival und den Festspielen Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. 2010 debütierte er mit den Nürnberger Symphonikern in der Meistersingerhalle mit Beethovens Chorfantasie.


Konstantin Semilakovs wurde der Klassikpreis des WDR und der Stadt Münster, der Hans-Sikorski-Gedächtnispreis, der Musikförderpreis der Hans-Sachs-Loge Nürnberg, sowie der Förderpreis des Ingolstädter Konzertvereins verliehen.


2004 nahm er das Klavierstudium in der Klasse von Prof. Wolfgang Manz an der Hochschule für Musik Nürnberg auf, das er 2008 mit einem musikpädagogischen und 2009 mit einem künstlerischen Diplom absolvierte. 2011 bestand er sein Meisterklassenstudium mit einem Diplom mit Auszeichnung. 2011 und 2012 studierte Konstantin Semilakovs an der Pariser Musikhochschule École Normale de Musique Alfred Cortot in der Klasse von Michael Wladkowski. 2012 erhielt er das Diplôme Supérieur d’Exécution.


Seit 2011 unterrichtet er Klavier an der Hochschule für Musik Nürnberg. Ferner war er 2013 bis 2017 an der Hochschule für katholische Kirchenmusik und Musikpädagogik Regensburg tätig. Seit 2016 ist Konstantin Semilakovs Lektor für Klavier an der Universität Mozarteum Salzburg.

 

Zusätzlich zu seiner künstlerischen und pädagogischen Tätigkeit forscht er über das Phänomen der Synästhesie und "Farbigkeit" in der klassischen Musik des späten 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts (insbesondere in den Kompositionen von Alexander Skrjabin und Olivier Messiaen). Der Schwerpunkt seiner Arbeit liegt in der Beziehung der Partialton-Harmonik und akustischer Tonalität zu neurophysiologischen Grundlagen der Konsonanz- und Harmoniewahrnehmung.